What is the EGTC?


About us

This acronym stands for European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) which is an organisation that joins entities for the purpose of devising possible mutual cooperation strategies in
the field of culture, education, sport, job opportunities, nature conservation, and infrastructure development. It helps create a stronger sense of social and territorial cohesion of respective entities. 

The Slovak Republic has set up five such cross-border cooperation projects with adjacent states for the programming period 2007-2013. The programme is applicable within the entire EU and is legally defined in
the Regulation (EC) No 1082/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council. It has been accepted by the Slovak Republic through a national provision in the act No 90/2008 Coll. on EGTC and the supplement to the act No 540/2001 Coll. on State Statistics.

In our region, a European territorial grouping termed Common Region there will be located in the border area of the Slovak and Czech Republics. The Slovak part of the grouping covers 22 municipalities in the district of Senica, the Trnava Region. On the Czech territory, it includes two associations of municipalities, Letovicko and Mala Hana; they belong to the Blansko District in the South-Moravian Region.

A SWOT analysis of the above territories defines the areas of mutual cooperation along with initial disparities, in particular the following ones:

  • there is an industrial park in the town of Senica / there is no industrial park in the Czech part of the territory,
  • there are fewer water bodies in Slovakia / there is the Letovice Dam on the Czech territory,
read more read more
Spoločný región

Česká časť

zobraz všetky
Spoločný región

Slovenská časť

zobraz všetky

Slovenská časť Česká časť